Five people are running for three seats on Milton Public Library’s Board of Trustees in the March 6, 2018, election.

Incumbent chairwoman Jen Dooley is running unopposed for a two-year seat.

Incumbent Treasurer Veronica Valz and development review board member Henry Bonges are seeking the three-year term.

Judy Schmidt and Christine Hauslein are running for the remaining one-year on former library board member Tracey Hempstead’s three-year term.

The other elected offices on the March 6 ballot are:

School Board

  • Incumbent Greg Burbo is being challenged by Rick Dooley for a one-year seat on the school board.
  • Jeremy Metcalf is seeking the remaining two years of board vice-chairwoman Cathy Vadnais’ term.

  • Michael Joseph, appointed to former vice-chairwoman Karen LaFond’s seat after her resignation in August 2017, is seeking a two-year seat on the board. He is running unopposed.


  • Incumbent Chris Taylor and challengers Brenda Steady and Don Franklin are vying for two one-year seats.
  • Incumbent John Palasik is the only candidate seeking the three-year seat.

Town Treasurer

Incumbent John Gifford is running unopposed.

Town Clerk

Incumbent town clerk Sheryl Prince is running unopposed.

Other Ballot Items

The town and school budgets, the chance to join a regional dispatch model, and two town bonds are also on the March 6 ballot.  The ballot measures can be read on the Warning – Town of Milton Vermont 2018 Annual Meeting.

Public Hearing

A public hearing will be held at 6 p.m. Monday, March 5, in the Milton High School Auditorium, 17 Rebecca Lander Dr.,  to discuss items on the ballot. You can view the Official Ballot (Sample) online.

When and Where to Vote

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 6, 2018, at the Milton Municipal Building, 43 Bombardier Road.  Absentee ballots are available in advance by visiting the Town Clerk’s Office, or by calling 802-893-4111.