The Mars house : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Bloomsbury Publishing, 2024.
Format
Book
ISBN
9781639732333, 1639732330
Status
Milton Public Library - New Materials Area
F PUL
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Milton Public Library - New Materials AreaF PULOn Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Brownell Library - New Materials AreaSF PULLEYOn Order
Fletcher Free Library - 1st Floor-Main - New Materials AreaF PULLEY, NATASHAOn Shelf
Ilsley Public Library - New Materials AreaFiction PulleyOn Order
Stowe Free Library - New Materials AreaFIC PULLEYChecked OutApril 17, 2024

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
New York : Bloomsbury Publishing, 2024.
Physical Desc
469 pages ; 25 cm.
Language
English
ISBN
9781639732333, 1639732330

Notes

Description
In the wake of an environmental catastrophe, January, once a principal in London's Royal Ballet, has become a refugee in Tharsis, the terraformed colony on Mars. There, January's life is dictated by his status as an Earthstronger-a person whose body is not adjusted to lower gravity and so poses a danger to those born on, or naturalized to, Mars. January's job choices, housing, and even transportation are dictated by this second-class status, and now a xenophobic politician named Aubrey Gale is running on a platform that would make it all worse: Gale wants all Earthstrongers to naturalize, a process that is always disabling and sometimes deadly. When Gale chooses January for an on-the-spot press junket interview that goes horribly awry, January's life is thrown into chaos, but Gale's political fortunes are damaged, too. Gale proposes a solution to both their problems: a five year made-for-the-press marriage that would secure January's future without naturalization and ensure Gale's political success. But when January accepts the offer, he discovers that Gale is not at all like they appear in the press. They're kind, compassionate, and much more difficult to hate than January would prefer. As their romantic relationship develops, the political situation worsens, and January discovers Gale has an enemy, someone willing to destroy all of Tharsis to make them pay-and January may be the only person standing in the way. Un-put-downably immersive and utterly timely, Natasha Pulley's new novel is a gripping story about privilege, strength, and life across class divisions, perfect for readers of Sarah Gailey and Tamsyn Muir.--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Pulley, N. (2024). The Mars house: a novel . Bloomsbury Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Pulley, Natasha. 2024. The Mars House: A Novel. Bloomsbury Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Pulley, Natasha. The Mars House: A Novel Bloomsbury Publishing, 2024.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Pulley, Natasha. The Mars House: A Novel Bloomsbury Publishing, 2024.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.